No Kannada Rajyotsava awards this year – Chief Minister

Saddened by the loss of life and damage to properties in north Karnataka in the recent rains, Karnataka Chief Minister B.S. Yeddyurappa on Monday announced that the Government will not present Rajyotsava awards this year.

The decision has disappointed all those who were lobbying for Rajyotsava awards this year. Many aspirants for awards would lose the sleep for a few days.

Instead, the BJP government has decided to celebrate the Rajyotsava programme on November 1, 2009, in a simple way.

The Chief Minister was speaking at Yavanika after receiving a donation of Rs. 50,000 from sex workers belonging to Ashodaya Organisations of Mysore for flood relief. Thanking the sex workers for their gesture, the Chief Minister exclaimed that their donation was equal to Rs. 50 crore I will spend it judiciously for rehabilitation works of flood victims, he said.

Mr Yeddyurappa, who also holds the Kannada and Culture portfolio, told reporters that the Rajyotsava awards would not be given this year on November 1, the Kannada Rajyotsava Day.

The awards of this year would be presented in 2010 along with next year’s awards.

Leave a Reply