BJP will win 14 seats in first phase in State: Yeddyurappa

yed123MOODBIDRI: Chief Minister B. S. Yeddyurappa has said that the Bharatiya Janata Party will win in 14 of the 17 Lok Sabha constituencies where elections were held in the State on Thursday. He claimed that he has received reports to this effect.Addressing a gathering here during his series of election campaign programmes at various places in Dakshina Kannada on Thursday, Mr. Yeddyurappa said that of the remaining 11 Lok Sabha constituencies which would go to polls on April 30, the BJP would win in eight or nine constituencies.

Beginning his speech with reference to “dharma” he said: “If ‘dharma’ survives, the country will survive. If country survives the ‘dharma’ will survive.” He called upon all voters to exercise their franchise on April 30.Referring to the party fielding Nalin Kumar Kateel as its candidate for Dakshina Kannada constituency, he said that Mr. Kateel was an ordinary party worker. His selection indicated that the party recognised the work done by an ordinary worker. It showed that it was ready to send a common party worker to the Lok Sabha. The party had done this experiment in Dakshina Kannada by choosing Mr. Kateel as its candidate.

Mr. Yeddyurappa alleged that the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) were two faces of the same coin. Both the parties had arrived at mutual agreement while fielding their candidates for this Lok Sabha election. He alleged that the Congress was a divided house and that its leadership was in crisis.